An ode to an old flame

Everything that happened when you and I became ‘us’:

A journey of self discovery

Being more open to expressing my feelings and letting the world see it

Realizing that love is not a form of vulnerability

Accepting that a temporary possession of a feeling is better than complete avoidance of it

Conquering the fear of getting hurt

Being prepared and brave in a difficult world that roots against love

Not confining romance within the pages of fat books

Confronting the escapist attitude I possess by being allowed plenty of space by you but not a lot of distance that I would hesitate to reach you when I want to

Realizing that putting in work for something that gives you joy, albeit short lived, is worth it

Accepting that sometimes things happen when you least expect it, life surprises you and you must go with the flow

Finally having certain words normalized – love, relationship, commitment etc which I no longer cringe at while saying out loud

Writing – lots of it – poems and botched up versions of our wonderful memories in the form of fictional stories for others to read

Being reminded that I am loved and that I deserve to be

Learning to love myself and embracing all that I thought were my flaws because your perspective showed me a different side of me and not all lovers empower so, thank you for being one of the rare ones who do!

Like the Facebook page of Soul-ed Out and follow @so.by.ss on Instagram!

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑