Golden Rain Tree

What exactly is a Golden Rain Tree, you ask? Well, it is this magical tree (scientifically known as Cassia fistula) that has great significance on the eve of the Malayalee new year, also known as, Vishu, when enthusiasts of upholding traditional values make it a point to get to their homes a bunch of the precious yellow flowers the otherwise neglected-around-the-year tree bears in order to have it adorn the other symbols of prosperity they see first thing in the morning as part of what is known as the ‘Vishu kani’. And I wrote a poem about it because it has been a day after the festival and frankly, who else would?
Golden rain tree:

Where have you been all this time?

I’ve been waiting to be touched

Before you can forget about me the day after tomorrow

Come nip me in the bud

I will be long forgotten

Only curious biologists will make time

To pick me, study the type of inflorescence

How unlucky-my fame lives a short life!

A bonus blog post deviating from my routine fortnightly updates in the spirit of celebrations here in south India and elsewhere since I find myself in the mood for embracing my Keralite roots!

One thought on “Golden Rain Tree

Add yours

  1. Your style is unique compared to other folks I’ve
    read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just book
    mark this page.

    Like

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑